Wipo Madrid Agreement Members

As of 15 November 2019, the Madrid Protocol has 106 members covering 122 countries representing more than 80% of world trade. Members include three regions that cover several countries, as shown below: Japan has revised its trademark legislation with the formal adoption of the Nice Classification (an international trademark classification system for goods and services), as well as applications that cover services using service marks. The members of the European Community have amended their legislation to comply with the European Community Harmonization Directive. In recent years, the trademark laws of several other countries such as Malaysia, New Zealand and South Africa have also been amended to reflect these changes. [Citation required] A designation of the European Union (EM country code) includes all countries that are Member States of the European Union. The following countries are members of the European Union: accession to the Convention or Protocol includes accession to the “Madrid Union”. As of June 2019 [Update], there were 104 members from 120 countries. The original treaty has 55 members, all of whom are equally parties to the protocol (when Algeria acceded to the Madrid Protocol on October 31, 2015, all members of the Madrid Agreement were also members of the Madrid Protocol and many aspects of the Madrid Agreement no longer had practical effect). The term “Madrid Union” may be used to describe the legal systems that are parties to the Agreement or the Protocol (or both). [4] 1) Official name: African Intellectual Property Organization. Its members are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of Congo, Côte d`Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Guinea-Básu, Senegal and Togo. In 1966 and 1967, an attempt was made to solve this problem by creating a new treaty that would reflect the needs of the time and not the world of the 1890s when the agreement was adopted.

This led to the drafting of the Treaty on the Registration of Marks (TRT), which was adopted in Vienna in 1973 and entered into force in 1980 with five Contracting States, namely Burkina Faso, Congo, Gabon, the Soviet Union and Togo. .